Customer Reviews

March 17, 2019:

Just wanted to thank you for developing this product.

I bought CCM wrist and Achilles protection recently because they integrated Safe Socks tech, which is to say a material that actually prevents cuts.

They are developing neck protection right now but it is integrated into shirt which is a garbage design, and not protective enough.

So I researched and stumbled across the mayo clinic study.

So thanks for actually caring and developing a product that does what it’s supposed to.

I bought 2, one for myself and my brother, and they are costly to Canada especially, but well worth it.

I don’t care if it’s comfortable and haven’t worn it yet, but it actually serves it’s function, and that’s all that matters.

Ricardo Henriques/ Ontario, Canada

Best neck guard on the market

Our 08 loves his skate armor neck guard. It’s thin and flexible, a huge improvement over other ones and as a parent we feel a lot better knowing he is well protected. Well worth the investment.

Darren Kiefer on Jun 26, 2018


Skate Armor Neck Guard

My son (almost 7 years old) loves the way it feels vs other neck guards he has worn in the past. This particular neck guard, which provides more comfort, will lead to less distraction for him on the ice.

Jeremy on Jun 23, 2018


Great neck guard!

My 11 year old always gave us a hard time about wearing his neck guard. The Skate Armor Neck Guard is is flexible and comfortable that he he doesn't mind wearing it at all! I love the fact that it contours around the neck to protect the carotid arteries.

Tami on Jun 22, 2018


Skate Armor Neck Guard

I bought this for my 8 year old son who constantly complained about his neck guard. After watching the video I knew I had to get one. No complaints have been made by my son. He says it's comfortable and much safer. I would recommend this to everyone!

Kendall on Jun 20, 2018


So far so good

Bought this for my 13 yr old. She hasn’t used it in a game yet but she’s used it playing 2 on 2. It’s taking some getting used to but she likes it so far.

Karen on Jun 16, 2018


Great neck guard and even better peace of mind.

I got thIs neck guard for the peace of mind that my goalie daughter wouldn’t get cut by a skate as she was making saves. Every other guard I tried seemed to leave a gap between her mask and neck. When I got it I used a freshly sharpened skate blade and slashed at the material several times. With not even a mark. I have even used a pocket knife to demonstrate to other hockey parents. The best part is the coverage. This guard goes all the way up to the ear and it stays there all game or practice long. My daughter loves it and she is very sensitive to things that are uncomfortable. I highly recommend this. I do wish that they had a dedicated goalie version but I feel good that my daughter is safe with this on.

Brandon Suss on Jun 15, 2018


Great choice for extra protection

Bought for our PeeWee and Squirt players and they have much better coverage than they had with regular neck guards. I feel better! They say they are comfortable. Win win!

Pam on Jun 15, 2018


No twisting

My son constantly had his neck guard twisted up and it didn't cover much. I was not a cheap one either. So on a whim i got this. It was worth it better coverage, no twisting. He still hates wearing a neckguard, but not near as much fighting to get him to wear this one.

Jason Mirobelli on Jun 15, 2018


Skate Armor Neck Guard

I bought this guard for my 11 year old son. He loves it! He says it feels good while he has it on and forgets that it is even there.

Stacey Self on Jun 15, 2018


Neck Guard

Fits great and feels good too!

laura carlson on Jun 15, 2018


Amazing neck guard

My son loves this neck guard! In the past he could not find a neck guard that fit comfortably. This neck guard fits perfect and is very comfortable. It does a great job covering his neck for protection. We are very happy with this neck guard!

Christina on Jun 15, 2018


Skate Armor Neck Guard

Bought this for my son. He was a little reluctant to wear it at first, but once he wore it, he said it didn't even bother him. Very light weight and now he doesn't even notice it is on. Hopefully we never have to find out if it works. We will be buying one for our daughter as well once the season approaches.

Troy Mills on Jun 15, 2018


Love the neck guard!

I purchased two of the skate armor neck guards. I love them for my boys because I know they are more protected than they were with their previous neck guards. They are easy to put on and I haven’t had any complaints from my kids (ages 6 and 8). Thanks for a great product!

Becky Rydberg on Jun 15, 2018


Skate Armor Neck Guard

I bought this for my son who is 7. He said it is comfortable and he has no problem wearing it. The deal w go thru the Penalty Box was great and the shipping was fast!

Eric Mangold on Jun 15, 2018


The boy loves it.

My son loves his new Skate Armor neck guard. He says it is the most comfortable neck guard he's ever worn.

The only minor issue I have is that the printing on the neck guard we received was faded, so one would have to look really hard to see the safety certification.

Edward Garinger on Jun 15, 2018


Best Neck Guard Yet!

This neck guard provides more protection and coverage than the other ones we have had. The kids said that they are more comfortable too! Would purchase this neck guard again and again!

Colleen O’Malley on Jun 15, 2018


Awesome

I used to have to fight with my kids to get them to wear a neck guard, but not anymore the skate armor neck guard is more comfortable for them and gives superior protection. Thanks penalty box for this awesome product!

Kevin Skelly on Jun 15, 2018


Armor Neck Guard

Best neck guard I've purchased. Fit is very comfortable, you can adjust it as tight or loose as you prefer. It is not bulky, lightweight, full neck coverage and just as important - cool. I love it and highly recommend it.

Patricia Tierney on Jun 15, 2018


Light and fits great

When I first saw these neck guards. I thought there was no way it was the best out there, it is! The coverage is amazing and it’s so light weight my son doesn’t even realize he’s wearing one! Great product, and I’d highly recommend it.

Emily on Jun 15, 2018


Greater piece of mind

My 9yr old started wearing the skate armor neck guard this spring. I like the sturdiness of it. The unique shape of it also gives more protection than the flimsy one he wore before. I have a greater piece of mind that this neck guard will actually help protect him if a stick or skate happens to hit him. The old one he wore super loose. This one he wears tighter around his neck.

Nicole on Jun 15, 2018


Awesome Product!

My son has tried other neck guards and stopped wearing them because they were heavy and so uncomfortable. I was hesitant to try another one, but after reading some other reviews, I gave Skate Armor a shot. My son says it is so light, soft, and comfortable, and he wears it with no complaints. I finally have piece of mind that his neck area is protected.

Stacey McFetridge on Jun 15, 2018


Neck guard is good!!!

My son loves the new neck guard it’s more comfortable and provide more coverage area than his last neck guard! Thanks penalty box for giving us sweet hook ups to awesome products!

Nichole on Jun 15, 2018


Awesome product

My 7 year old son absolutely loves his neck guard. it provides him great protection while being very comfortable. We would absolutely recommend this neck guard to anyone looking for one.

Hugh Bayne on Jun 15, 2018


Neck guard

Light weight protector that fit my 10 year old perfectly. Not bulky, offers full neck protection for an affordable price!

Katie Hitchings on Jun 15, 2018


Great product

My son didn’t like neck guards. In fact, he was fighting me against them because they bothered him. This is the first neck guard he was happy to wear. Comfortable and provides great area protection

Efi Roe on Jun 15, 2018


Great neck guard!

My 10U loves his new Armor Neck Guard. He says it is more comfortable than his Reebok one, and I can breath easier knowing he is protected!!! We are very satisfied with this product.

Traci Aguilar on Jun 15, 2018


High Quality Neck Guard

Purchased two of these through The Penalty Box for my two boys. The Skate Armor is very high quality with a soft lining BUT be aware that the exact thing that makes this a highly protective neck guard is the thing that will make some kids fight you on wearing it. The high rise on the side of the neck over the arteries is the exact reason why one of my kids refuses to wear this neck guard. However, the other boy loves it.

Chris S. on Jun 15, 2018


Great coverage

This neck guard covers more area of the neck and tucks into the top of the chest pad. The Velcro is longer for better sizing ability as well. I’m super impressed.

Jeannie Mclaughlin on Jun 15, 2018


Great Gaurd!

Fits great on my 6 year old! He says “It feels good Mom!”. The guard he was using prior to this was very narrow and flimsy. The Skate Armor Neck Gaurd covers all off his neck, but is still flexible enough for my skater to move freely. This gives me peace of mind knowing that he is far better protected out on the ice. Will continue to purchase this same product as he grows!

Joelle Meyer on Jun 15, 2018


"We love Skate Armor!"

"Thanks again very much for your email! And keep doing what you're doing, helping kids be safer on the ice! FYI: We love Skate Armor! We ordered from you a few yrs ago that is now worn out (fabric, velcro, stitching) so we do love your product and that's why we're ordering at this time! :)"
Sincerely,

Theresa C.


"U have the only Neck Guard my son will wear."

"Thx Teri - u have the only Neck Guard my son will wear (5-6 years and counting) - bought 2 just in case!"

Rob – OH


"Many thanks to you and your fabulous product."

Many thanks to you and your fabulous product. My boys are 13 and 10 now. Our 10 yr old, Tristan is a goalie as well. I got 1 larger size for our old son, Quinlan, as he's in growth spurt. Thanks again !

RK – NH


"It is super comfortable"

"Hello I heard about skate armor at the play it again sports in Northbrook IL. My son is 7 and plays ice hockey. I loved the skate armor neck guard first because of its protection ability and also that it is super comfortable for my son to wear. Thanks"

Brian W. - IL


"You have a wonderful product"

"Thanks Teri...Many skaters here in Brookfield, WI have them and since we only moved here a year ago from Minnesota, I put your link on my Facebook page for all of my Minnesota hockey friends...Hopefully they will be ordering, you have a wonderful product, thank you!!!"

Wendy H.


"My boys really like their Skate Armor, much better than their old neck guards."

"Just thought I'd let you know that my boys really like their Skate Armor, much better than their old neck guards."

Diana S. WI


"Thanks for making a product that does not have the bulk."

"I just wanted to say that we received the neck guard and that it fits. But more importantly, my son wore it to practice for the first time and he likes it! Thanks for making a product that does not have the bulk, but does have all the safety features that those thick, pillow like collar guards have. It's been challenging to find this kind of product, which offers players another layer of protection, but is comfortable enough so they will actually want to wear it every time they are on the ice, will definitely feel better at his first game wearing the Skate Armor this weekend."

Diana C. New Jersey


Coaches Recommendations:

"Should Neck Guards be Mandatory for All"

Our Ice Hockey Participants?
Kent, WA February 12, 2008 – The horrific neck injury February 10th to Florida Panthers forward Richard Zednik raises the issue of whether or not neck guards should be required for all hockey players and officials involved in the sport of ice hockey. Neck injuries are an inherent risk in a sport that's played with skate blades as sharp as knives. Neck guards aren't mandatory in the NHL. At the amateur level, neck guards are required for all Canadian leagues. However, there are no mandatory requirements for neck guards at the USA Hockey national level. Perhaps now is the time. It would be advisable for everyone to acquire a neck guard at their earliest convenience.

One additional thought on this subject; are we prepared as parents, coaches and officials to deal with such an injury on the ice at Kent Valley Ice Centre? Unlike the Florida Panthers vs. Buffalo Sabers game, we typically don’t have a team of medics, doctors and trainers on hand who are able to treat this type of injury promptly. The Florida Panthers trainer is credited with saving Zednik’s life with his immediate treatment of the life threatening neck injury. Kent Fire Department typically responds to KVIC’s calls for help within seven to ten minutes. Are we prepared to manage this type of crisis until they arrive? It’s seems to methat our first line of defense should be a $15 - $35 neck guard on every KVHA player.

MARCH 2015 - A Maine High school coaches response to a severe cut to a players face which happened during a championship celebration on the ice:
That's why I make my high school team wear neck guards. We are the only high school team in Maine that does. I'm astonished parents don't make their kids wear them.

That could have been across his neck and he would have bled to death right there on the ice in front of everyone.

PARENTS...even if neck guards are not required by your team, association or state....they are your children...YOU make them wear one. You will get grief, I did with my high school team...but it's not negotiable. No neck guard = no play! They get over it real fast.

There is a neck guard that we purchase from a woman in Wisconsin. Best one on the market in my opinion. EXTREMELY comfortable and the most protective. Visit skate-armor.com to check it out. My kids say they feel bare without them now.

USA Hockey has it's head buried in the sand on this issue. Almost every other hockey playing country REQUIRES that their players wear neck guards. Don't wait for USA Hockey...do it yourself!

Close